FIFA World Cup 2014

Determination is a key ingredient for success.

One needs to be flexible to be successful.

Keeping your goal in sight helps in reaching it.

Past success means nothing.

Talent does not always win.

Strategy is important. In fact, it is the ultimate weapon.

Never stop. Even when you are ahead.

An Action Plan will win against No Action plan.

An underdog can spring surprises.

Isn’t it is amazing what the FIFA World Cup 2014 has done?

So many things we would never have known but for the World Cup.

Whichever way you turn, you come across “What the FIFA World Cup taught me” stories. About winning. About goals. About strategy. About success. And the pitch has become even higher since the mauling of Brazil by Germany. The world has been learning even more things after that.

There are lessons for senior executives. There are lessons for HR Managers. There are lessons for entrepreneurs. There are lessons for Sales people. Even for startups, which is where I currently count myself, there are learnings. Who would ever have thought startups can learn anything?

I have been unable to look my friends in the eye ever since the start of the Cup. After the Brazil-Germany game I have even been unable to look people in the street in the eye. How could I look into the eyes of people shining bright with knowledge gained from watching matches in the FIFA World Cup 2014? I have enjoyed watching some matches. Got bored watching a few others. But never did I learn anything from these games. Whenever I am out on the streets, I feel like the only person in the world who did not learn anything.

But it was not always so bad. I have been a quick learner in the past. In fact, regular readers of this blog might recollect the insightful sessions I had in front of the TV watching advertisements in Educating Ankur.

Deep inside, I knew I had it in me. I knew I could do it again. I shook myself out of the funk I had got myself into by watching FIFA World Cup matches merely for the pleasure of watching fine young athletes compete, and sat down with a pen and paper and started to reflect upon the learnings I had received.

In case Benjamin Franklin did not, someone may well have said, “you can do anything you set your mind to”.

This is what I learnt…

There are numerous knowledgeable people who know how a match was going to turn out, but choose to reveal their knowledge only after the match has finished.

There are World Cup tournaments where participating teams are from more than one nation.

Strategy plays an important part. It is important to have a winning strategy. With a winning strategy you could end up winning. With a losing strategy also you could end up winning. You could also end up losing.

After the discovery that there is human life outside the country, said to have happened over a hundred years back and that took a century to be verified and accepted, the discovery that there is a sporting event more popular than the Superbowl and World Series has again set the dovecotes aflutter.

I have not been able to establish if people still watch sport for the joy and emotional high of watching fine young athletes in action. It is rumoured that there are, but has not been conclusively confirmed.

I know the learnings are few and I have only the final and the third place game before that to redeem myself. Though I promise to try, a big challenge lies ahead for me.

I have been an ardent Argentine fan since I saw Maradona create magic in 1986 with his weaving, solo runs. It is great they have made the finals, though not in the prettiest manner. The problem is that they face Germany in the final. No, not because Germany destroyed Brazil in the semis. But because both my teenage sons are long-time fans of German football. And they have planned to invite an army of supporters over to watch with them. And we will probably be watching the match together.

At least for the duration of the match I must learn to keep my emotions in check.

16 thoughts on “FIFA World Cup 2014

  1. I have read some not very complimentary things about the internal politics of those who administer and oversee the Fédération International de Futból Associations……
    When it comes to watching the actual games, I say FIFA-FO-FUM…. ho hum…

    • I think I know what you mean Cynthia. Many times there is greater excitement in the anticipation of an event. The actual event often does not live up to the expectation.
      Re. FIFA, like they say, “power corrupts, great power corrupts greatly”.

  2. I also learned that some football players can bite. I also learned that I can save 90+ minutes of my time by watching just the highlights of the game online.
    I also finally learned how a team can lose and still move on to the next round.

  3. Haha! Good one. I can humbly proclaim that if not anything else FIFA has atleast taught me how to give my expert analysis upon a game I have no clue about. Contrary to popular belief most people who act like Maradona’s right kick when it comes to football knowledge are equally clueless too 😉 Shouting ‘Goaaaaaaaaaaaaaallllllllllll’ or ‘run fast godammit’ at momentarily intervals helps camouflage ignorance of the game #BeenThereDoneThat 🙂 *hides face*

  4. Valid observation. There have been instances of citizenship applications being fast-tracked to enable a sports-person to take part in a key event. While great for the individual, who is probably escaping poverty and crime, it does not reflect well on the nation that takes him in for that purpose. But, at the same time, in an increasingly global world, this is bound to happen more and more.

Leave a Reply

