Being published

I feel happy to share with you that the last two issues of Friday Gurgaon, a weekly newspaper in Gurgaon, have featured my articles. Here are the links to the two articles in the online version of the paper:

http://www.fridaygurgaon.com/news/5808-Licence-to-Learn.html

http://www.fridaygurgaon.com/news/5792-lies-damned-lies-and-elections.html

Regular readers of this blog will recognise these two as modified (and edited) versions of articles published on the blog.

Friday Gurgaon is also open to continue assessing future submissions for publishing πŸ™‚

Another article was published in Unhinged, an online satire magazine, a few days back. Here is the link:

http://unhingedmagazine.com/2015/02/the-good-that-men-do/

An interesting thing I have noted is that both Friday Gurgaon and Unhinged have embellished the article/s with images. My articles are always only prose, except, where the article is about an image of some sort, like traffic signs. Perhaps time to consider including suitable images, though I think addition of images limits imagination. Not sure if that last sentence made any sense. Will welcome views on inclusion of images with articles.

30 thoughts on “Being published

  1. Congratulations, Ankur; I’m delighted for you! As for including images, I guess it does depend on the article. Travel articles, for example, would usually benefit from images, while I doubt whether articles on grammar (such as those I write) would. As for others, I think one needs to use one’s judgement. If you have something appropriate, by all means use it, but, if you don’t, it’s not the end of the world. People will read your articles because they are excellent – not because of the inclusion of images. Best wishes.

  2. I really liked the Good That Men Do and you have made me realise how ungrateful I have been for not appreciating that the Great and the Good have always had my best interests at heart. I shall be going in on Monday demanding a cut in pay so that they can buy themselves something nice.

  3. Congratulations on having your work recognized for the fine quality that it is. In the matter of photo illustrations, it seems a fetish of the times we live in. Literacy is on the downswing, and cameras, ubiquitous. I don’t know if it’s my age or literariness, but I still have the imagination to “see” what I read (and to hear it too) and I prefer it that way. But I think I’m fast becoming a member of a minority in that preference. Once again, congrats, you deserve it!

  4. Congrats, Ankur! You need to set up a page for your publications. You’re a star and no one knows it!

    Pictures in writing–lots of people are visual learners so pictures appeal to their reading style. It does kind of intrude on the ambiguity of words, but more people than you’d believe require color, images, visual to get through content. And, Google likes pictures. It’ll make your articles more findable.

  5. Firstly, congrats on your published work sir!! According to me as far as articles are concerned a single picture doesn’t quite harm as such.One picture related to the topic you are writing about should suffice.Rather it’s a good way to begin the conversation you have with your reader through words.The readers get a subtle hint as to what the article is all about.

    • Congratulations on the award. And nothing better than recognition from the peer group, as even one of the “used Toyota price” wearing celebs remarked on Saturday night. I am honoured that you considered me. However, without meaning any disrespect, I have to request to be de-considered as I am not in a position to fulfil the requirements of the nomination. I will, in any case, go over and look at some of the other sites nominated by you. Thank you once again.

      • Hi Ankur,

        No problem. I understand as I am not always in a position to be able to fulfill requirements of awards, either. I feel uncomfortable placing requirements on people, so I should have specified more clearly that there were no requirements, just a nod of acknowledgement to other bloggers πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

