The Versatile Blogger Award

Have hesitated on this for many weeks, but am ready to finally give it a go. I was in mortal fear of having to write about me and, fortunately, always had other important tasks cropping up just as I was about to.

Having finally, and only recently, realised that that was not a show-stopping requirement, next time, which is now, when I sat down to write this post, for some strange reason, no other important task cropped up.

So, over to the award.

Firstly, thank you to my fellow bloggers for nominating me to this award and opening up my Blog to their audiences. I hope some of my readers make the effort to visit these unique bloggers and their distinctive styles.

This includes :

Mr MuthafuckingMaryPoppins at aspoonfulofsuga.wordpress.com who seeks to administer dosages of reality, in his own inimitable way, by softening it up, breaking into small pieces, and many other ingenuous devices.

sorryiamnotsorry at sorryiamnotsorrydotcom.wordpress.com who enjoys taking a lighthearted look at love and life through her Blog.

HaLin at haphazardlinkages.wordpress.com who explores linkages that make life interesting (and liveable) in a manner that makes the humorous, humorously serious and seriously humorous often undistinguishable.

Through the short period I have been blogging, I have had the opportunity of reading some unique and wonderful creations, on a varied set of subjects.These include seasoned bloggers blogging from before blogging was invented to others who started only yesterday.

I hope to spread the joy and pleasure that I get from reading their blogs by nominating a few of them for the Versatile Blogger Award.

These include (in no particular order) :

Carl D’Agostino at http://carldagostino.wordpress.com for prolific cartooning output on a wide variety of subjects; democrtisation of cartooning if ever there was one.

Hilarius Bogbinder athttp://awhitelephant.wordpress.com/ who has been writing about subjects I would call meaningful. Has been inactive of late. I hope he gets back to what his readers enjoy most; his writing.

Rob Rubin athttp://www.themainland.net/ which, with its bite and sarcasm, manages to even get through to ardent non-followers of American politics (I mean other than American politicians) like non-Americans.

Eric at wp.me/1YE83 who has been bringing snippets from the life of Mechanic Leigh from the Singapore of sixties onwards, including some poetry.

Barry Parham at http://barryparham.wordpress.com/ for high quality humour. The subject can be anything he chooses to write on.

“A British expat living in the Algarve” at http://downsizingandothertruths.wordpress.com/. Very close in subject to my own with his version of happenings at The Firm. Has been a little quiet these last two months. I hope he gets going once again,

Grumpa Joe at grumpajoesplace.com. A versatile blog on a variety of current events and Grumpa Joe’s family.

Avtarit at http://avtarit.wordpress.com/ who, I believe, is a recent convert to blogging and writes on subjects similar to mine, i.e. the empty spaces in large corporates. Occasionally, he also writes on other subjects.

Five Reflections at http://fivereflections.wordpress.com/ for plain old-fashioned good writing and poetry.

Martha B Mills at http://prettyfeetpoptoe.com/ who, once again, can write about a variety of subjects with equal aplomb. She was one of the first non-family/friend visitors on my Blog and also left a comment which indicated to me that I was getting through. I am indebted to her.

The rules of the award are what have been passed on :

Firstly, the nominated bloggers should make an attempt at carrying on the tradition and nominating bloggers of their liking, in turn.

Secondly, they should contact the nominated bloggers and let them know about the nomination.

Thirdly, they should display the “Versatile Blogger Award” on their Blog.

Though unrelated to the Award, I also want to make a general request to all readers to try and leave comments on the posts they read and which touch them in some way.

19 thoughts on “The Versatile Blogger Award

  1. Congratulations. Your writing is in the style of two contemporary American humorists I adore: Dave Barry and Garrison Keillor. You have a touch of Mark Twain as well. Thank you for supporting my blog. Regards.

    • Thank you Carl. Also for introducing me to two great humorists. A side benefit of writing this blog has been the little tips I keep getting. A while back someone suggested I read Catch 22 by Joseph Heller who I had not heard of till then. Turned out to be a great read. I have looked through some bits of the work of Dave Barry and Garrison Keillor available on the web. Looks wonderful. Especially liked some quotes by GK. Thanks again. And you are welcome.

  2. So this award is passed from blogger to blogger? And if you get nominated you win it? Congratulations on winning btw. I’ve seen this on several blogs and have no idea what it is for

  3. Thank you for nominating me for this award. It was never my intention to Blog for an award, it was to get my message out. I appreciate all the readers who follow my posts and who look into the archives for new material. Again, I am humbled by your nomination, I thank you from the bottom of my heart.

  4. Congratulations Ankur. You have put in a lot of thought and effort in this post > cementing the fact that this award is well deserved of you.

    Thank you for your kind words of nomination. It is always a great pleasure to be recognised by fellow bloggers.

    All good wishes, Eric 🙂

  5. Ankur, this is thoroughly deserved. I’m glad to have discovered your blog. As someone not cut out to work in corporate-y environs for extended periods, I relate a lot to your writings.

    Congratulations, once again, and hope you continue entertaining us with your brand of humour.

  6. Hey there, Ankur! First off, congratulations on your award! 🙂 I just read your comment on my ‘About’ page and was pleasantly surprised that you have nominated me for the award! It’s really awesome to know that you have enjoyed my VERY few posts.

    I’ll be frequenting WordPress more often now during my semester break so I do look forward to reading more of your posts. Thank you for recognizing my blog, cheers!

Leave a comment